top of page
thestreetlightcolor.png
  • Writer's pictureC Street Agency

Five Things I Wish I Would Have Known Before My Internship

Internships are scary – at first, anyway. Or maybe that was just me.


I was nervous about a lot of things like impressing my boss, not messing up and making connections during my time there. There’s a lot of pressure during internships to set yourself up for success after graduation.


Here’s five things I wish I would have known before my internship:


1. It’s different collaborating with people twice your age

This never occurred to me before my internship. I always had no problem working with others during group projects in class, and I was never afraid to voice my ideas.

It’s a completely different ballpark working with people who are significantly older than you. Last week I made a Phineas and Ferb reference and no one knew what I was talking about. It was weird.

At first I felt really uncomfortable sharing my ideas or opinions. I thought, “These people know so much more than me. I’m just going to sound dumb.”

That’s not true.

Even though you might be the youngest person in the room, it doesn’t mean you’re useless. You have a fresh take on the industry and are learning fresh information. Your thoughts also offer a new perspective, and your coworkers might not have considered it from a millennial’s point of view.

Either way, you’ll get an A for effort and impress your boss. ALWAYS share your thoughts when it’s appropriate. You are VALUABLE.


2. Don’t let a title intimidate you

This summer was my first time working in a corporate environment. It took a while to get used to all the rankings, and I was so nervous to even be in the same room as the higher-ups.

I shared this with my mom and she said, “They get sick and have belly aches just like you do.” Which sounds silly, but it’s true.

Of course you need to be professional and respectful, but don’t forget they’re human too. At one point, they were in the same position you are in right now.

Instead of being intimidated, use it as an opportunity to learn from them. The only difference between you and them is years of experience, which you’re trying to gain, and you will. You can be in the same position as them one day with some hard work.


3. You’re going to mess up, and that’s OK

At the beginning of the summer I was a nervous wreck doing even the simplest of things in fear of messing up. On my first day I just had to put some magazines on a rack and in my head I thought, “Ahhh I’m going to do it wrong somehow.” Stop.

The most important thing to remember is that you’re still LEARNING. Of course you’re not going to do everything perfect 100 percent of the time. That’s why you do internships. And even people who have years of experience mess up sometimes too. It’s called being human.

If you mess up, use that experience to do better next time. Don’t let it get you down. It’s all about your reaction to your mistake than the mistake itself.

And if you don’t know how to do something, don’t feel silly asking for help. That’s why you’re there.

4. Show some personality

Being professional doesn’t mean being stiff and dry. That’s not how you connect with people. You aren’t going to be memorable sitting silently in your cubicle.

Get to know your co-workers and let them get to know you – the real you, not just some phony face you put on to “look good.” Show them how great you actually are.

Sometimes it can be hard to know what to share, and that’s when you have to read your audience. Some people are more casual and open than others, and you need to take that into consideration.

Use your best judgment when interacting with others, but never be stiff. Learning to be professional, yet personable is key.


5. Don’t be afraid to ask for post-graduation help

One great thing about internships is all the connections you make, not only with the people you work with, but those your co-workers know, too.

Sometimes people get offered a job after an internship, and that’s great. That’s everyone’s dream. But it’s not always that easy.

Don’t be afraid to be aggressive. Let them know you want to work there. It’s impressive when people really take an interest and work hard at getting a job.

Even if your department isn’t looking to hire another full-time position, let them know when you graduate. Tell them you’d love to stay in the area. Ask if they could keep you in mind when they hear about open positions. It never hurts to let people know you’re looking.

Yorumlar


bottom of page